Sharing FAQ: https://galaxyproject.org/learn/share/
The video is a bit older but still valid and should answer your questions.
To be clear, a shared history/workflow/visualization can be simply viewed by another account (if not imported) or it can be imported by another account where it is then available for them to work with (using their own new imported copy). *Your original history remains unmodified, still has your original permissions, and cannot be changed by others.*
On Wed, Dec 13, 2017 at 12:45 AM, Christophe Caron <firstname.lastname@example.org
When a user wants to share a history ti a user, it seems the are several use cases after validation.
In some cases, no question and the history is shared, but in some other use cases Galaxy request more informations with one, two or three questions (list below).
1/ Make datasets public so anyone can access them ?
2/ Make datasets private to me and the user(s) with whom I am sharing ?
3/ Share Anyway ?
We try to identify the source of these different proposals. It seems to be link with role and dataset owner ...but not sure.
Any advice or clue ?
Is there any documentation of potential links between these options end user roles ?
Please keep all replies on the list by using "reply all" in your mail client. To manage your subscriptions to this and other Galaxy lists, please use the interface at: https://lists.galaxyproject.org/
To search Galaxy mailing lists use the unified search at: http://galaxyproject.org/search/