I'm wondering if there is an option to permanently delete a user account from a Galaxy
instance, for example to comply with GDPR (for those of us running public Galaxy
The admin interface provides "delete" and "purge" options for user
accounts, but neither of these seems to permanently remove an account - the deleted
accounts are still visible and can be undeleted (at least, in Galaxy 17.09). It's also
unclear to me what "purge" does in this case - I wasn't able to find any
documentation on these user management options.
As I understand it, under GDPR a person can request to have all their personal data
removed from a database, but neither of the above options would be sufficient to leave the
database compliant with GDPR in this case (as at the very least the email address - which
I understand constitutes personal information in this context - would remain in the
Is there any way within Galaxy to truly permanently remove a user account?
Thanks in advance for any advice on this,
Peter Briggs peter.briggs(a)manchester.ac.uk
Bioinformatics Core Facility University of Manchester
B.1083 Michael Smith Bldg Tel: (0161) 2751482